Single Shot Recommendations

ckpj99

So I'm looking to buy a simple single shot break barrel in 12 or 20 gauge for casual skeet and shotgun range shooting. Ideally, I'd like something with interchangeable chokes because I'm new at this and I'm not sure if I want a wider pattern or something like a tighter improved choke. But, I'm not super picky about that.

I'd obviously like a side by side or over and under, but I don't think my budget will permit it. I only do this type of shooting 7 or 8 times a year, so I just can't justify a huge expense.

That said, I'd like a decent gun. I usually buy used, so I won't have an unlimited selection.

Anything I should look for? Ideally, I'm looking to spend less than $250. Any brands to avoid, or super common guns that would be up for the task.

Not sure how the doubles are handled in skeet with a single shot. I guess you just fail to hit one.
I should add that I tried this same scheme with poor results. I tried an H&R Topper and I had a part break and a piece fall out in the grass locking up the action during a round of trap. I also bought and tried an import. I think it was a Remington Baikal shotgun. During shooting, I noticed a long wire hanging out of the muzzle. Upon inspection, I found the choke tube drilled or bored & threaded off center and I was shooting the choke tube out of the barrel. I never had any good scores until I bought a used Browning Citori O/U for $900. That's when I began to ace some rounds while having scores in the twenties. My previous best scores were in the low or mid teens. A low cost shotgun never did me any good. If you don't care about the score, then it's no concern. I even tried a Stoeger coach gun and never had such a black & blue shoulder. Never try that again.

Last edited:
Gun/$250

For $250 you are l most probably going to be looking at either a new NEF/H&R single barrel or you will be in the used market.