SIG vs SW vs Colt - which .45 is the one?

Status
Not open for further replies.

thequickad

O.K. here is an easy question. Let's say you have $1K so the choices are among the three:

SIG P220 Sport
SW 945
Colt Special Combat Government

Which one? and Why?
thanks everyone in advance for the responses.

From the selection, sounds like you are looking for a competition pistol. In which case, my vote goes for the Colt Govt. I have a Colt Combat Elite which is lightly modified for IPSC (back when I had the time to do so about 10 years ago!). The Colt was a great gun, although it is a series 80.

I also have a P220, the brisk recoil and DA/SA trigger are not conducive for competition, although it would be my first choice for a carry gun if we ever get the chance to do so in Kalifornia (super highly unlikely). I am not familiar with the sport model per se but it looks like it has the same pinned slide and aluminum frame as the regular P220, so I suspect it is not as tough as a 1911, but I could be wrong.

But if you already have a limited 1911, the P220 sport sounds like a great novelty gun to have in the safe!

Yes, sorry I forgot to give the requirements, it is for very limited competition and target shooting. I had a Goldcup and wasn't too impressed with it. And I am not ready yet to go for one of those $3K race guns from Wilson or Ed Brown or other top gunmiths.

By the way, the SIG P220/229 Sport series are quite different and is made completely out of stainless steel. Check it out at www.sigarms.com thank you for the advice.