Sig P226 .40 cal - Mags, Grips, Short Trigger?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gary Carver

Inactive
I posted earlier about my new Sig's difficult to load magazines and recieved some valuable advice, thanks I appreciate it as I have no experience with this make/model. I have a few more questions, where can I purchase new Sig magazines and how much? Do after market grips such as Pachmeyer/Hogue reduce the grip size? The stock grip is just a bit too large. Has anyone installed the short trigger option? Sig advertises it for $35.00 and states it is easily installed. How much does this reduce trigger reach? Thanks.

I haven't tried the Pachmayr grips, but the Hogues are significantly larger than the stock grips. I've also found aftermarket grips that don't fit as well as they should, and the potential for interfering with the function of the pistol is there. If you buy grips, keep the receipt so they may be returned if necessary.

The short trigger is pretty subjective. I have average size hands and absolutely hate the short trigger. Those with smaller than average hands may find that it makes the DA pull LOTS easier. Takes only a few minutes to install by an armorer or 'smith.

Most of our smaller officers utilize the short trigger (P226/9mm).

Gary:

My experience with aftermarket grips for my SIGs was the same as Chris Orndorff's. The rubber Hogues I ordered interfered with operation of the de-cocker so I returned them for credit. Wooden grips may do better, at a significantly increased cost, however.

I've stuck with the stock grips on my SIGs and actually like them. If Hogue would attempt a run of SIG grips in a hard nylon, I'd be willing to try again.

I've no experience with the short trigger. My hands are average sized and I don't have any trouble with the da pull on the first shot.