Should I keep it

MrWesson

I got a deal on a Hungarian Mosin M44 for $75(go for 150+ around here) that I couldn't pass it up. I had a M38 that I liked but didn't have much opportunity to shoot it after I moved to south fl because only 1 local range is outdoors and 100yds(hate that range too). I am on a strict firearms budget(thanks honey :rolleyes:) so if I sell it would be to fund some small pistol primers(down to about 2000).

keep it
Obviously fun to shoot because of the huge fireballs/noise/cheap ammo. If I want to get into hunting(mostly boar hunters around here) I will have something to hunt with although i wouldnt dare shoot this without hearing protection.

sell it
It will get shot maybe once every couple months.
I started shooting USPSA and I might run really low on SPP for awhile.
I like the M44 but I liked the M38 much better(dont like the extra weight of the bayo).
My first "deal" that i could make a little cash on or keep and brag about how cheap it was..

Last edited:
they're right. NEVER SELL! An m44 is a STAPLE for a collection! DO NOT SELL! You gain 150 bucks. THen what. Then you wish you had it back, then m44's are 300 bucks. KEEP IT

Keep it, you can figure out how to save a little money for primers. I have only gotten rid of one gun that I don't regret, I quit selling/trading several years ago and am very happy w/my decision.

My $.02 -

It will get shot maybe once every couple months.

No opinion on this, other than I have rifles that have gone years between shootings.

I started shooting USPSA and I might run really low on SPP for awhile.

I wouldn't sell a tangible thing for something consumable. The day will come when you'll have neither the rifle nor the ammo you swapped the rifle for.

I like the M44 but I liked the M38 much better(dont like the extra weight of the bayo).

Bird-in-the-hand syndrome. M44s are rare enough these days. M38s are almost non-existent (and therefore much more expensive).