Should I Get Scope Covers?

Fremmer

I bought a new Leupold scope. I'll have it mounted on a .308 for deer hunting. Hunting terrain includes wide-open fields, as well as thick timber with lots of brush, prickley-throny things, and low hanging branches.

Some of the guys I hunt with have scope covers (e.g. Butler flip-up), and some don't. I've been using the cheap Tasco w/out scope caps for the last 6 years, and even after repeatedly walking through some really thick timber, I've never scratched a scope lens. Maybe I'm just lucky.

My question is whether I truly need scope covers. I can't imagine having them closed while walking in the timber (or anywhere else) -- it would just be another thing to have to disengage (besides the safety) when I only have a couple of seconds to take a quick shot. I would appreciate your opinions about this.

Should I get the scope covers?

Scope covers will not only keep your lenses on that expensive scope from being scratched but will also keep them clean. They are awful hard to see out of though so I would suggest taking them off when you are hunting:D

I would say yes, not because of lens scratching, but just to keep them clean and dry. If you want to make it as simple as possible, maybe just get one for the front end of the scope, where it's most likely to accumulate water and detriment?

Definetly YES,

I use the Pull-Over caps that are clear on both ends and hardly ever remove them as they are see-through. I tried the Flip-Opens for a while but got tired of deer running off when they went BOING when I opened them. (OK Only happened once, but that was once to many) haven't had that happen with the see-throughs.

PS

FF
Evidently I Lied to you on the thread about Honobia and Three Rivers.
I had a game ranger here locally tell me that the state has no control over them any longer, and the owners have closed the land to the public.

Sorry bout dat !