Shotgun for left hand home defense

mark lee

I have no experience with anything besides handguns. There is a gun show here in Lousiville this weekend. After reading some of the posts about shotguns in a defensive setting I am interested in getting a shotgun. I am left handed.

Any suggestions?

Mark

------------------
We are the people our parents warned us about.

I can think of two or three choices
1. On issue of bottom-loading/ejecting shotguns, you could look into the Ithaca model 37 or 87 shotgun. They are available in 4+1 and 7+1 capacities and have bead and rifle sights, as well as being available in blued or parkerized finishes. However, they can be pricey, since they are machined from solid steel bar stock. The forearms are also single bar, so the problem of fore end bindup is greater than double bar fore ends (like the Mossberg 500s or Remington 870s).
I know that a Chinese copy of the model 37 was available that was cheaper than the Ithacas, but only in the 4+1 capacity (but ii did have rifle sights).
There are a few accessories for the Ithacas, but I don't know if they will fit the Chinese copy.
2. There are left handed versions of a few of the major brands. I can only think of Remington as one brand. I thought that Remington made a left hand version of the 870 in 12 gauge, which may be the better choice. I imagine that it will be a hunting / sporting version (barrel longer than 20 inches, possibly a glossy blue finish and engraved receiver), and may need to be modified for defensive purposes. However, the good thing is there are a great deal of accessories to use with the 870. You just may be unable to use the sidesaddle ammunition carriers and have difficulty with a tactical light fore end too.
A great deal of companies are also in the business of working on making or customizing Remingtons into defensive type shotguns (i.e. Vang Comp, Scattergun Technologies/Wilson).

Mark,