Shot my first IPSC match last night--Woohoo!

AndyP

I went to my first IPSC match last night. Boy, what a blast! I'm relatively new to shooting (since last Sept., not counting USMC boot camp & ITR 30 years ago), so I was somewhat apprehensive. Everyone there was very helpful and supportive, and consequently my nerves didn't get too stratospheric.

I used a Glock 19 (stock except for "the plug") and managed to hit all the targets (even a few "A"s), my only penalty being a flesh wound to a no-shoot target.

I had one question for anyone who regularly shoots in these things: How do you manage to maintain focus on the front sight under all that pressure? I noticed that my sights stayed pretty blurry when firing so I was effectively "point shooting." Any pointers?

Lastly, to anyone who hasn't tried IPSC, I recommend it highly. Even if you aren't that competitive (like me), I can't help but think that participating has to help you become a better shooter.

Cheers,
Andy

AndyP,
Glad you had a good time with your first IPSC match. The answer to your question is focus on the front sight and let the target be blurry. Once you've become more familiar with the IPSC target's A-zone, you can just concentrate on the front sight. I've been told by master and grand master class shooters that you should be able to see the texture of the front sight (smooth/serrated/etc.). Rob Leatham, Bill Wilson and others said that they see their sights every time. Slow down and get a good sight picture on EVERY shot, the only time you should point shoot is when the target is only at arms length. Don't try to go too fast, speed will come with practice and experience. I've been shooting IPSC and now IDPA for 15 years, and I still learn something new every time I shoot a match. If you have an IDPA club near your area, I recommend you visit them and give them a try. It is more suited to your Glock 19. Good luck and have fun.