Shot First IDPA match

Roland Thunder

I have been shooting bowling pin matches for about 2 years and have gotten pretty good at it. Last weekend I went with a friend to shoot my first IDPA match. Needless to say, it was an embarrasing performance. I'm trying to decide whether to continue with IDPA or just stick to bowling pin matches.

I think shooting bowling pin matches is more fun but I can see where IDPA is probably more useful.

Why was it embarassing?
1. Do what you enjoy. Having said that:
2. I'd try it one more time. Now that some of the uncertainty has worn off you may find you enjoy it. If not stick with who brung you and stay with bowling pin matches. Nothing wrong with that!

FYI - Here I'll help you share you embarassment - whats a bowling pin match?

Congrats to you for giving something new a try!! I'm sure it wasn't as embarrassing as you think. You have to factor in a bit of a learning curve as well to how things are run vs what you are used too.
I would definitely give it another shot (pardon the pun) if you get the opportunity and see how it goes a second time.
If you find you don't enjoy it then, stick with your bowling pin matches. Definitely whatever you enjoy! (And I confess as well, I don't know of bowling pin matches either).

You aren't the first person to feel embarassed after their first match. If it was fun stick with it because you will improve. No reason to pick one game over the other. Enjoy!

Yeah, what everyone else says, it was your first match and try it again! Everyone is a beginner at one time. Just be safe and keep coming back, and soon you can help out the people who are there for the first time.

I've been shooting USPSA and IDPA for fifteen years, and have been involved in new-shooter instruction, and over the years, I'd say the most common reason why people don't continue in the sport is because they can't stand to do something at which they are not good!