Shooting Steel

boudreux

When shooting steel targets, what keeps the rounds from coming back and hitting you or hitting the ground and richocheting back and hitting you or someone else. When i watch on tv they seem really close to the targets and they don't worry about it. What am i missing?

Bullets don't Ricochet in real life like they do on TV. You'd really be surprised at richochets. First, if you are anywhere near 90 degrees from the target you have little to worry about. If close, and the steel target is pitted you may get some back splash, but eye protection will take care of any serious problems.

Now lets look at ricochets: When I was a LE firearms instructor, combined with my work in CSI I wanted to find out about Ricochets. Gen Hatcher had differant ideals then what people learn from TV and Movies.

First off, you shoot a bullet at 45 degrees to the ground (hard surface) it will not come off the ground at 45 degrees. It will come off the groud at an angle then level out 8 -12 (about) and travel along a horizontal plane.

Try this. Go to a range that has a concrete walkway (for frozen ground). Set you target on the ground. At 25 yards shoot toward the target aiming, allowing the bullet to hit about 2/3s between you and the target. You'll see the bullet will hit somewhat low, 8-12 above the ground. Do the same thing hitting the ground about half way between the target and you. It works the same way shooting at vertical walls. The round will travel down the wall, not bounce off it.

This comes in handy when you are teaching Cops not to hug a wall when being fired at, or engaging targets hiding under a car.