Shooting and Fighting Aren't The Same...

ewww. Suarez... Would u elaborate what the points you felt were accurate? I refuse to go to any of his websites. He's a bit to off for my tastes.

No thanks. There are plenty of other papers from other professionals I'd prefer to read. The concept that gunfighting and recreational shooting or even defensive shooting practice being very different isnt a novel or rare concept I've read about it from others Ayoob and such and would be willing to debate or agree with the topics you seem to agree with if you'd choose to share them.

Suarez & co. is to different for me I'd probably get along with JY before them and thats saying quite a bit. ;)

Just from life experience i'd say most don't factor in the stress of combat assuming their skills in combat will be equal to their skills on the range.

That's was a good read, sounds very logical and straight forward. I'm no expert but the way I see it is target shooting is about achieving perfection where as when fighting you don't have to be perfect just good enough to hit what your aiming at and faster than the BG. Practicing shooting at targets is good but if that's all you know how to when it comes to a fight your screwed. You can't just stand in one place and expect your target to be still whilst you pop a cap in it.

I never heard of Suarez before, and just read through a few of his posts. Seemed like pretty reasonable stuff.

What's the issue with him? Not to stir the pot. Just curious.

David

Shooting is a subset of fighting.

Imagine a large circle, call it 'fighting'. Bisecting it is several smaller circles. One is 'shooting', another 'tactics', still another 'techniques', another 'tools', and so on.

Some of the 'shooting' circle is inside the 'fighting' circle, as is the others. And some of the other circles bisect each other (that is they overlap.)