Semi-auto lockups

ATN082268

In general, how often do semi-auto Shotguns like Winchester and Mossberg lockup to where you need a gunsmith to look at it?

I'm pretty old and I shoot a LOT of shotgun. I own, and have owned quite a few semi automatics, and don't know what "lock up" means. What are you talking about?

I am a firearm novice so please forgive my terminology and the way I describe things :) When the bolt of a semi-auto shotgun goes forward to load a shell, the ejection port will be closed, blocked, etc by the bolt.

It sounds to me ..../ when the gun jams like this, it is often ammo related / shell is out of round - or wasn't sized or resized properly.

Semi-autos - made by anyone are finicky on ammo / ....but using better shells usually stops the problem.

Some of the bulk pak shells from Wal-Mart have been an issue for quite a while ....but it pops up from time to time on the inexpensive shells from Rio, Estate, etc...vs the better shells from Wichester or Remington.
----------
Sometimes there can be mechanical issues in the action ( Mossbergs guns - are not high end shotguns / not picking on them - just saying they are on the lower end with mixed reviews on their semi-autos // Winchester is a subsidiary of Browning and FN now ...and their newer guns are pretty good // most of the market on gas operated semi-autos is controlled by Beretta with a variety of models ...and in the Inertia market Benelli dominates ( Benelli is a subsidiary of Beretta / and for the most part all they do is Inertia actions vs gas operated) -- although there are indications the lines will blur between Beretta and Benelli to some extent on new models....
----------
With the gun that is jammed ...or has jammed / get some help getting the action open ....then make sure it is cleaned and properly lubed...and see if the problem persists. And change shells...( learning how to do this - is part of shotgunning / and its not often that you'd need a gunsmith to do it ).