Scout Scope Question

HarryB

Ashley just came out with an ingenious forward mounted scope base for the Marlin lever actions. I plan on ordering one. As for a scope I need to know why I need the Burris or Leupold "Scout" type optics. Wouldn't a handgun scope provide the necessary eye relief? I have a great 1.5 T/C from a Contender and a Leupold 2X. I am more than willing to buy a specialty item if necessary.

Pardon my ignorance, but as a former teacher I know there are no stupid questions, only stupid people :)

[This message has been edited by HarryB (edited March 25, 2000).]

I love the little Leupold 2x pistol scope. Order the mount- I hear good things about it.

The Leupold scout scopes have eye relief adjusted for an "over the front action ring mounting" and therefore have less eye relief than a pistol scope. Same with the Burris Intermediate Eye Relief "IER" scopes.

So it depends on how far out on the barrel you want the scope. If you have to get the dedicated scout scope, they're not too expensive and well worth the money...

I'm a big fan of the Scout Scope, and also a big fan of the Marlin GG. I own several Scout Scopes and use them on several rifles, I also own a Marlin GG and carry it on regular basis - I live in Alaska, in big bear country.
However, I don't think putting the Scout Scope on the Guide Gun is that great an idea.
The Guide Gun simply doesn't have the range to require a scope. The GG gun is designed to be a short range, defensive weapon - a scope is just something that can go wrong. The scope caps will be on at the wrong moment, the glass will be wet, the range may be so short that you end up shooting blind - lots to go wrong.
Replace the factory iron sights with one of the good "peep" styles on the market and you'll have a much more rugged and practical rifle in hand. It'll still give you practical accuracy out to 150 or 200 yards - the maximum range of the rifle.