Scout Concept

Combat45

Inactive
I have no experience with the Scout rifle concept other than to respect Col. Coopers opinion greatly. I am a real fan of the .308. Why wouldn't I want to sell all my other guns and buy the Steyer Scout (which might even please the wife)?

I have a model 700 .308, with an 18inch barrel, synth stock, MER quick release 1.5X scope, ghost ring and tritum front site. This rifle cost me about $700. It is just a touch heavier than the scout rifle. I have a harris bipod for it, but I don't have it mounted most of the time.
The one thing I am really missing in that package is the detachable magazine.

Now, the same 'smith that built that gun has done a similar conversion on a standard Steyr SBS, it is still MUCH cheaper than a Scout rifle.

you should consider these very seriously before investing so heavily in one .308 rifle.

at leat that's my opinion.

I opted for the older Rem 788 Carbine in .308win. It's inexpensive; uses detachable, single-column box mags; has a very fast lock time and locks-up from the rear with multiple lugs. It's also accurate. It's topped with an old 2.5x Weaver wide-angle 'scope, though it is not forward mounted as it does not have a long eye-relief.

Rob,

You're right, on both points.

[This message has been edited by Mykl (edited 10-17-98).]

Looked at a Steyer Scout this weekend at the gun sho in Richmond. It had a big sign taped to the butstock that read "Don't Even Think About Touching This One!" I was not impressed by that attitude... but I was by the rifle. Looked like a gun you might seen on "Babylon 5" or "Starship Troopers" but not too far out as to be silly. The photos of one in a magazine are one thing - but next to a Remington 700 on the table it looked way different. Like it might fire an electro magnetic pulse driven projectile or something.

I agree, Kodiac, the Steyr Scout gets 12 points out of 10 for style.