scopes

chink

Ok I'm relatively new to this whole owning gun thing, and never really need a scope, but I got a good deal on a 10/22 with a scope. the guys said something about boresighting? or boresetting? what does it mean and how do I do it?
thanks

------------------
It ain't mah fault. did I do dat?

Boresighting is putting the rifle on sandbags or in a rifle vise, looking through the bore (the long piece of air around which the barrel is formed - he, he...just joking) and aligning the bore to a target, then adjusting the scope to the same approximate point. It's used to get the scope "close" to zero before you start shooting.

Having said that, you can't do it with a 10/22 because you can't look through the bore without taking the barrel off. You could use a collimator but its not necessary.

Just start out at 25 yards with a big piece of paper or cardboard to put your target on. Line the scope up on center and fire a shot. Put the scope back on center with rifle firmly bedded on sandbags or in a rifle vise and move the crosshairs to the bullet hole. Fire one more shot to confirm the correct adjustment and you have the scope "roughed-in" at close range assuring that the bullets should at least be close to center at longer range. Proceed to sight in at the desired distance.

With practice, and a good rifle/scope, you can sight-in with about eight rounds this way.

Mikey

see thats all I thought I had to do. then then guy went and used big words on me and confused me. thanks

I've seen laser bore sight kits in the Brownells catalog. You stick a small laser pen in the chamber/barrel (it is attached to a power supply via a wire) and turn it on. Then set the scope to the red dot.

I'm planning on getting one. I have a flat top AR, and I swap between iron sights and the scope every shoot.

how does this laser thing work?