SCOPE or DOT for .44 Mag

dewey

I'm just getting started in HANDGUN hunting
here in S.C.(it's THE state sport) I have a
S/W 29 w/6 inch tube. What do all you REAL hunters use ? I have a RED DOT on my MKII and have ordered a Burris 2X7. Which one should I use for deer ? My Ruger doesn't care what it carries as it will still group >> WAY << getter that I could ever hold.
Regards- gds

I use a 2X Burris on my 10" 44.Contender. I fooled with a reddot (PDP3) but it objected to the recoil, and I don't trust anything with batteries and circuits when it comes to hunting. If weather is so foul I don't trust a scope, then I use a .44 revovler with iron sights.
IMO,One of the big mistakes in hunting optics, esp handgun, is overpower. If a trophy jumps out of the woods and you're cranked up to seven (cause you been watchin squirrels) You going to see nothing but fast moving landscape until its too late.
well, you asked.

2.5X8LEO on my TC I like having the 8X for testing out new loads & always hunt with it a 2.5 (wish it would go down to 1.5 for reasons pointed out by Kingcreek. Too much at too close = too bad)

BTW, make sure your eye relief is set up for ALL your hunting postions. I blew a spike elk at about 15yds 'cause I couldn't get the right relief. 1/2 elk burned into my memory forever. :(

I use a 1X4 Tasco World Class on one of my Dan Wessons. It's held up well for several years now.

Joe

------------------
Go NRA

I use a Leupold 2X with my Blackhawk Hunter. I agree with not trusting electronics in the woods. You may check local game laws as well. I believe that Texas, for one, still has a ban on "any electronic site" for hunting "game animals".

2deer_99.jpg

'99 Snowstorm Buck, Ruger SBH "Hunter", 300gr XTP Handload

I used a 3x Tasco Pro-Class to get this buck. Have since switched it out for a Millett Redot sight (and I always carry an extra battery). With it I use a "both eyes open" technique, I think it's a big improvement, excellent at dawn/dusk.