Scope not straight with barrel?

So I am totally new to rifles and scopes, I know next to nothing besides what I am teaching myself and learning as I go from books and the internet, I have a Marlin 60 .22 with a ****ty Tasco 3-7x20 I got for 15 bucks, now everytime I install the scope(and yes I have youtubed it and what not) it seems to pull a little to the right and is NOT lined up with the barrel of the rifle, it is off by about 2-3 centimeters and in turn I cannot zero the rifle because the adjustment that controls the reticle left to right only goes so far and I cannot adjust it any further to zero it.

If it matter the scope has two screws that tighten the mounts onto the rail system on my marlin 60 and the screws are on the same side the scope is pulling to, BUT even before I tighten the screws the scope pulls that way just a little, but the actual rail mount on the gun is straight and lined up with the barrel totally.

Right now I do not know what to do, I tinkered with it for about 2 hours and the same issue. I am either going to return the scope and use the iron sights from now on or maybe invest in a red dot sight or something? But ANY help is greatly appreciated and I like the look and magnification of a scope. Thank you!

You can try reversing your rings and see if that makes a difference, otherwise it might be trading that scope in for a different model or changing the rings.

Put metal shims under the fixed side of the 1 mount before tighting it. Aluminum cans are about .004" thick. But steel is much better as it does not compress as much. Try the rings in different positions if they are removable from the scope. Side to side, 1 or both or front to rear.

everymanalion said:
... everytime I install the scope(and yes I have youtubed it and what not) it seems to pull a little to the right and is NOT lined up with the barrel of the rifle, it is off by about 2-3 centimeters ...