Scope Mount for 700

yo1dog

I have decided on a Nikon Monarch 3 3-12x42 as a scope for my Remington 700 Varmint SF in 308.

I am a novice shooting paper around 50-100 yards. I hope to move up to longer ranges and may take it hunting someday.

I am trying to decide how to mount it. Doing some research I have found that one piece vs two does not matter much. Nor does steel vs aluminum. It seems like I should spend around $50-$100 on the mount. The most recommended brands in that range are Leupold and Talley.

Given all of this I have narrowed it down to 3 possible setups:

My questions are:
  1. Are their advantages/disadvantages to attaching rings to a base (eg. Leupold Dovetail setup) vs directly to the gun (eg. Talley setup)?
  2. Does a bar over the action (eg. Leupold STD setup) significantly hinder access to the action? I know it will some, but is it substantial enough to avoid or just a minor annoyance.

Thanks,
- Mike

I have used a 1 piece mount & rings from IBA with a 20% elevation built in, rings were lapped, 4 screw base. A good one piece mount makes it easy to mount & level your scope, also was not a problem with with bolt opperation. Changed to Ken Farrel base & rings with zero elevation, do to shooting 200 yards, max distance for Ranges here on LI NY. Both worked fine. Rem.700 308 cal.

I noticed that some mounts come with 20MOA built in. I am still not quite sure what this means. It seems it is needed for long distance shooters, but I don't know how far "long distance" is. Is this something I should look for? Will it adversely affect shooting at 50 yards?

Unless you are planning on shooting 1000 yards, you don't need a tapered base.

I am partial to the Leupold standard bases, I like that they have windage adjustment built in to it, even though you in all probability will never need it.

The one piece base does not interfere with the loading of the rifle.

I have a few Rem 700s and only one has a two piece base and ring.