schoolgun

tchandler

Inactive
I am a school teacher,and there has always been an old revolver in the trophy case. I think it was found during a construction project. I'm courious as to what it is. There are very few marking on this gun the only ones I could find are on the cylinder-a circle with the letters L and G with the letter E above them and a star below all inside the circle. Then on the frame where the grips would cover if they weren't missing are the letters J and D. This gun appears to me to be a double action and of small caliber I would guess about .32. I saw an old H&R revolver in a gun shop once that look similar and also had no barrel markings. I can't find a serial # anywhere on the gun. What do you think this could be?

thanks for any help--I realy enjoy this website
tchandler

Unfortunately that's not very much to go on. Can you give a description of the handgun; number of holes in cylinder, description or different parts (i.e. ejector rod, hammer, cyliner release, grip shape, is there a lanyard ring, barrel shape & length, frame shape etc).
The B over LG ove the star within a circle is a Belgian proof mark.As you sure that there's not a crown on top of the circle mentioned? Stars with crown over circle on the cylinder were proof marks on revolvers which were proofed with 30-5- per cent excess pressure proof loads. We can surmise that it is a Belgian revolver by this. Belguim was one of the most prolific firearms-building countries in the world for many many years. They still have quite a presnce in the firearms field.

Hello,
Sounds like you have found a gun fabricated in my country - BELGIUM.
Those letters E -L - G are the Belgian proofmarks.( E-L-G = Eprèuve Liège ) witch means" proofed in Liège " ).
The town of Liège was the gun-making mekka from early in the seventienth century and is now the home-town of the FN (Browning) factory.
It is difficult to say what kind of model you got over there.
It could be a Bulldog gun.