School me on predator calls

Sorry to say that I have no advice for you but I am looking forward to some helpful hints from up here in NH. We have a good population of coyotes and I too would like to call some in..

We've used fawn distress, ground hog distress, and rabbit distress. All work great.

I hunt with a friend a lot who is a superb caller. When dogs hung up he's used a multitude of howling/barking ( I'm no expert at describing all the dog sounds he uses) and many times that would bring them in.

On two occasions we had two dogs come in at once. We killed one and the other ran off. Immediately we'd set off a coyote distress call, those two times it was enough to spur the other yotes curiosity to get him to poke his head back out. Both of them were dropped in their tracks.

I've used mouth-blown wounded rabbit calls as well as wounded rabbit tapes in a baby boom-box.

Watch the volume. I doubt that a coyote would want to mess with a 400-pound rabbit. :D

Coyotes will come directly toward a call, but somewhere within 50-ish yards will circle to approach from downwind. Usually. Keep that in mind when setting up for a calling site.

At night, make brief sweeps with a light. Don't spot eyes and keep the light directed on them. Pick up eyes in the lower edge of the beam. A red covering on a Q-Beam or a Streamlight SL 20 works well. After seeing eyes, changing to a standard 2-D Cell flashlight can work well.

The closer in, the softer you call.

I use a FoxPro Fury and it is priceless as far as that goes. But i hunt alone also so its worth it. Rabbit distress is my number 1 then rodent but i have gotten into using howls and coyote vocalizations as well. Seems to work pretty well. For Bobcats i use bird distress sounds or the mating calls.

Rabbit in distress will bring them in, at least until they wise up on it.