Saw this on another gun forum

DennisCA

I realize I'm a bit a noob when it somes to black powder - but isn't this hella dangerous?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
200 grains in a flintlock pistol

http://i1225.photobucket.com/albums/ee382/klan792/MuzzleFlash_zps4d649b3d.png

So I've been sick three times in the past four weeks and cleaning up and preparing this Kentucky pistol was my project. I went to the range today and towards the end, I decided to fire it with 200gr of powder for the hell of it. Here's a cool picture of the flash.

I actually did this twice. The recoil was quite stout and the trigger guard slammed into my middle finger hard enough to bruise it.

FYI, I knapped that flint myself. I got about 50 shots out of it today, and I can probably get more if I turned or flipped it.
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Of course it's dangerous. Firing that much black in a pistol is asking for trouble. The flash you see is excess powder burning outside the barrel and doing nobody any good. If that guy keeps up with that kind of experimentation you will see him posting results some day under the name of "three fingered Bob" or something like that.

When I was a kid, had a guy tell me that you can use smokeless in a muzzleloader. He said just cut the powder charge in half. I told him it was a bad idea. Long story short:He had a 50 cal T/C Renegade. The docs used his big toe as a thumb and what was left of his right hand to build two fingers.

I just don't understand people that do dangerous stuff "just for the hell of it". Isn't it true that BP is an explosive, not a propellant? Eventually the physics catch up with you and you loose something, like an eye or hand. Dumb!

I have a Savage ML that uses both powders! LOOK it up. Look up the different in both powders.

I used to shoot my RoA on the night of 4th July. I swear the fireball looked larger than that in the photo.