Savage model 12 re chambering ???s

brett119

Inactive
I currently have 22-250 in a mod 12 and want to chamber it for a 260 rem. I can grab a shaw barrel for $189 threaded for a savage. Its my first time re chambering a gun and just getting into Lr shooting so i'm new to all of this. What else would I need to do to the action to convert it to 260? I also plan on truing and bedding the action. I already have a trigger job and b/c stock

$189.00 sounds like the barrel is not contoured or chambered or both that will need to be done,bluing if not S.S.Head spacing the action and barrel.

I would not worry too much about blueprinting a Savage action. They seem to work about as well out of the box as they are going to work. I would definitely do no more than adding a custom bolt head. Anything else seems to be a waste of time.
Go gauge, shim, and barrel nut wrench are about all you need to do the conversion. Shaw barrels would be questionable for an accuracy intended rifle.

Brett- You for sure want to get a new barrel nut. Savage stock ones are ok,but get a machined one,you will not regret it. Tip--Spend a little more on your barrel if you plan on shooting for long range accuracy.

Ok will deff get a machined nut and you guys are swaying me to a better barrel. Krieger has blanks for $315 in a 1-8 twist and im thinking about going 26-28in. I plan on using the heavy 139-142 gr pills

Try McGowen Barrel Outlet they guarantee one week delivery on Savage Pre-Fit barrels. However if you want anything custom like flutes and a brake you're going to wait at least 14 weeks for delivery.

I run a McGowen Varmint contour barrel on my .243 Stevens 200.

1383949075.jpg

1383949079.jpg

It has been recently shooting like this at 100 yards.

115BergerVLD-1-1.jpg

It shoots like this at 300 yards as well.

243-4.jpg

I built this rifle for around $1800 total with the Vortex 6.5-20X44 PA scope after I sold off a few of the take off parts.