Savage 110 30-06 to 308?

deadcoyote

My buddy offered to sell me a savage 110 in 30-06 for $100. He's used it in a lot of heavy hunting. It's only got a couple hundred rounds through it but the cheap factory scope is broken, the front site is missing, and the barrel is really rusty. It has a nice stainless bolt and the action operates good. I'm hoping to buy it and get a heavier 308 barrel, not super varmint type, maybe just better than the pencil thin barrel on there.

Can I go short caliber in a long action??

Yes, it will work. I am not a Savage expert, but for years all the Savages were long actions no matter what chambering. I am not sure if they used a filler block in the magazine or not for the shorter cartridges.

That's exactly what I did. I have a long action, that's was also 30-06 and now it has a factory heavy conture 24" 308 barrel on it. I can load the higher BC bullets out futher to allow for more powder room. Also, changing the barrel on your savage action is simple. You can do it yourself with a barrel nut wrench, the new barrel and headspace gauges. Also has tons of nice aftermarket stocks and if its like mine, pre-accu-trigger, lots of nice triggers availble as well.do itm. If you don't want it, ill give you 125$ for it. Brian.

It's a keeper. The stock is a factory laminated multi color stock? I never new savage made these, its kind of neat even though its beat to hell. I'm sure I could refinish it and it would look good. My buddy is adamant it came from the factory with that stock. I'm thinking an ER shaw stainless barrel, maybe savage factory medium-heavy. I'll let you know how it works out.

I'd shoot it, before I even gave a thought to changing anything.