Safety Question...Distance....

SolomonMan

All,
Not posted in quite a while....

I have a question on Distance and Safety...maybe its more of how far will a bullet travel.

But first before I ask my question I want to make sure everyone understands my position. I am not very experienced gun owner and I am currently schedule to take the CCW in my state and NRA Safety course offered at the local gun shop over the winter months. I have taken hunter safety and have been to the range countless times with friends family etc. This endeavor (gun range) will not begin till spring as a slew of other items are taking priority now.

Anyways, My Wife and I recently bought a home out in the Sticks....The land is flat and no trees...open field everywhere.

I am looking at putting some landscaping (back drop) in for a small back yard gun range nothing like a high power range but something I can shout my collection of guns.

Currently I have 38 S&W hangun, a few .22 long rifles, a 12 gauge Winchester, and a 20 Gauge Mossberg (both slug and shotgun barrel). I am looking at getting a small .22 handgun for target shooting.

Some I have talked to say that its not necessary based on my distance from neighbors/building etc.

We are on 3 acres and based on where your at in the yard distance can very another 600 ft from my measurements for next few sentences. If you look out my back door the closest neighbor is 1200ft to the far left which honestly would not be a way to shoot as my barn would get involved. The next closest is to the far right and its just a pole barn no inhabitants and its 2000 feet away. This is not a ideal location for the range as my pond and pasture (animals) would be in the way. So this leaves straight back from the house. The distance to the start of the yard of these neighbors is 4600 feet and two others that are 5000 ft.

I commonly here shots in my area which I am guessing is for dispatching of animals for the freezer.

So my question is what is a safe distance?