SA caliber?

Ed Dixon

I'm getting ready to purchase a Ruger Vacquero in the next month or so, but am still not sure what caliber to go with. In all honesty I'm strongly leaning toward .45LC just because of the history, but understand there are cheaper and easier-to-shoot (accurately) calibers. I'm not involved in CAS but am curious and wouldn't rule it out at some point in the future. Any suggestions which might shake me loose from the lure( and lore) of the 45 or not? I may start reloading in the near future as well since I just started shooting a .45-70 rolling block repro.

If you are not sure about reloading, I would go with 357 Magnum or 44 Magnum. Both will allow you to shoot their "special" counterparts. The deciding factor should be wether or not you are going into bear country. $8 for a box of 38spl for some low recoil plinking is sure tempting. :D

To me, .45 LC is the gold standard of SA revolver calibers. Be that as it may, .357 Magnum would be my first choice for the pure fun of SA shooting. Also, the .38/.357 system is highly flexible.

I have a Vaquero in .45 Colt, and am very pleased with it. I reload, and my loads range from CAS level up to the "Ruger Only" loads.

That same range is available in factory loads, but the .45 Colt loads ( and also the .44 Special loads) are more expensive than the .357, and also cost more than the "generic" .44 mag loads.

Ed,
You might want to consider the Ruger Vacquero with both the .45LC and .45 ACP cylinders. You have the .45LC for all the reasons that you are concerned with and the .45 ACP for less costly shooting (if you are using factory ammo). From personal experience, my Vacquero is more accurate with the .45 ACP loads than any of the .45LC loads that I have tried.
Bubba