S&W M 27-2 Info

Ronin 99

Picked up an LNIB M 66-2 at the gunshop last week and went back to see what else they had.
Showed me several used revos but only a 4 inch 686 caught my eye. Then the gunsmith comes out of the back carrying an old,beatup wooden box. Opens it up to reveal a mint M27-2 with a checkered topstrap and beautiful wooden grips. Finish is flawless,a beautiful deep polished Royal Blue. Asked $400 and I took them both for $665 OTD. The M27 had been buried and forgotten since 1983 and still had the original papers including a blank warranty card. Any info would be appreciated. Serial # N3256**. This gun was so gorgeous I forgot to test fire it. Will take care of that tomorrow. Thanx in advance.
Ronin

Does your md 27 have a 6 inch barrel and a post type front sight. I think they call it a patridge type. My 27 is set up that way and it is an excellent revolver. I purchased it when I started shooting NRA hunter pistol matches and it served me well. I am sure you will enjoy yours.-Cliff

Yes it does have a 6 inch barrel and with Partridge Sites. Wow,can't believe the gun is that old. The wooden box does look it's age though. Funny,I was looking for a 586 and look what I ended up with. Can't wait to shoot this thing in the morning. Life is good!:)
Ronin

I have the same type revolver you describe. I bought it used in the wooden case at a pawn shop for $275 about 2 yrs ago. This is the most accurate revolver I've ever owned and I've owned more than a few. One inch 5 shot groups at 25 yds are routine with max+ loads of 2400 behind the 140 gr Rem JHP. Not long ago I took a jackrabbit with it at 60 yds off hand. Needless to say it's one that I'll never let get away. Hope your's shoots just as good. regards, birdman:D