S&W 625JM - shoot'n with moon clips

jwise

I have a few bad habits. I feel a strong compulsion to purchase every new bottle of whisky I find (especially old and rare ones), and I have to mark every great achievement with a new gun (or, just to mark a day that ends in 'y'!). It started when my dad bought me a Winchester 1894 Trapper in .44mag when I graduated from High School. I've carried on the tradition ever since.

Kimber Pro CDP: graduated college
Les Baer TRS: when I hung up the badge
Custom Colt: graduated law school
S&W 586: won a six figure verdict
Uberti 1873 Cattleman El Patron .357mag: won a six figure verdict

There are others, but those are the big events. Well, I hit another major professional milestone that had to be marked.

For hitting this milestone, I picked up a S&W 625JM.

The 'JM' stands for Jerry Miculek, famous for his exploits with all manner of firearms, not the least of which the 625.

The 625 of course is a .45acp handgun, which I first saw in action back in my shooting sports days. It always intrigued me, but after I picked up a Colt M1917 a few years back, it really got under my skin. I enjoy shooting the big revolver, even if the trigger is heavy and the grips make it difficult to hold.

The M1917 was the US Army's answer to the 1911 shortage when World War I started. S&W and Colt switched their revolver production to make the big bore handgun and fitted it to shoot .45acp in moon clips, so it and the 1911 would have ammunition compatibility.

The S&W 625 is just the modern day 1917. Both even use the same moon clips!the 625 is built on the N frame, with the JM sporting a brass bead front sight and smooth grips (a JM specification). My Colt M1917 and S&W 625JM are pictured below:

I've only got a handful or so of clips for these big revolvers. I guess I need to place an order for more. Any recommendations? I also would like to try some 45 Auto Rim at some point just for fun!

Last edited: