Ruger SP101 - Trigger Work Questions

• Thread starter Thread starter faiello5
  • Start date Start date
F

faiello5

Just picked up a used SP101. Want to polish the internals and install a Wolffe spring kit. Can anyone provide the details as to:

1. How to take it apart
2. What internals to polish
3. How to intall the new spring kit

Obviously, I have never done this type of work on a revolver before, so go heavy on the details. Thanks.

Regards,
Frank

First, buy one of the books on guns which includes your Ruger, with "how to" instructions and exploded drawings. This helps immensely in disassembling the bloomin' thing and then getting all those little pieces back where they belong.

I've been too lazy to do this, myself, and I have both an SP 101 and a new model Blackhawk to do some trigger work on... :)

I'm no revolver expert. About all I know is the Colt 1911. But, the areas to work over are the sear engagement with the hammer, and the weight of the hammer spring. The critical points are the angle of engagement--DON'T CHANGE IT!--and the amount of engagement--BE CAREFUL! Use very fine, very hard stones and clean up just a little bit at a time. You can either buy a lighter weight spring or cut coils off yours. (I'd buy a lighter spring; and a standard spring; and play with coil-cutting. Springs are cheap, and I'm willing to experiment on cheap stuff.)

I like to do a little bit of work and then reassemble and test. Repeat. Patience is the greatest virtue, here.

And I'll take a back seat to any pro's comments on this.

FWIW, Art