Ruger Security Six

FanAttic

Hello all

I am completely new to the gun world and am seeking advice. I should be getting my Indiana CCW in just a few short days. I've waited almost a month with grand anticipation.

I lurked around this site for quite some time and have taken the advice of many of the participants here. I am going to take a pistol class at the local gunrange for safety and performance pointers.

I still need to fire a lot of different types of guns to find the one that suits me best, but I am convinced that the practicality of a revolver will probably lead me to go that route.

I have looked real hard at the ruger SP101 2 1/4" snubbie and I like the gun a lot, but have read a lot of posts about the ruger security six.

Can anybody post a picture of one? Does it come with a spurless hammer? Should I assume that the "six" refers to the cartridge capacity?

Bottom line: will someone compare the SP101 spurless 2 1/4" snubbie to the Security Six for me?

Thanks

Michael:D

The Security Six has been discontinued for several years, but they are as durable as any other Ruger so there are a lot of them around. Some are even for sale. There are three variations; the actual Security Six has adjustable sights, square butt, and 2.75", 4", or 6" barrel. The Police Service Six has fixed sights, and square butt. Most are 4" but there are probably some 2.75". The Speed Six has fixed sights, round butt, and 2.75" or 4" barrel.
The Speed Six could be had with spurless hammer but they are not real common.

Hang around the gun store and gun shows to get a look. Only you can decide if the extra shot is worth the larger size. It is a lot smaller than the current GP 100, for sure.