Ruger GP-100 snub vs. S&W 686 snub

Status
Not open for further replies.

PeterGunn

I am in the market for a new .357 maggie to replace my dated Rossi .357mag. I will be taking a trip to a fairly wooded area in the southeastern US in October and this seemed like a good excuse to pursuade my better half let me upgrade.

I have narrowed my choices down to the Stainless Ruger GP-100 with a 3" full-lug bbl. or the Stainless S&W 686 in 2 1/2 bbl. trim. I am fully aware that the Ruger is probably the more durable of the two and is going to be less expensive and the Smith has the better trigger...Blah, blah, blah. I am looking for you guys who have used one or both and can give me an honest up or down on these fine pieces of american industry.

By the way, I am new to the firing-line and am impressed with the level of knowledge you guys have, and the means by which you express it. Hope to talk to you all soon.

PeterGunn

Is anyone able or willing to help me on this topic, or are we so consumed by autos that we no longer have any practical knowledge on the subject?

Any info from you guys/gals would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

------------------
"By His stripes we are healed..."

PeterGunn

You have a 5906 Smith. You don't need another gun.
Judging by the number of them that come into my shop, the Ruger is more rugged... but, you have to decide for yourself on a choice like this. Can you borrow or rent one of each to try them out side by side?

Sounds like you've already answered the question--not much more to add as far as I can see. I don't know if the Smith in snub form is available as a 7 shooter--that may be a definite advantage...

I like the Smith 686 snub and use it as a house gun. I like the feel, look and balance.
Never cared for the look of Ruger revolvers.

Another thing against Ruger: Bill Ruger came out in favor of a hi-cap magazine ban a few years ago, if I recall. So my distaste for Rugers is political, too.

Peter,