Ruger All-Weather M77 Mark II Scope Rings Problem

grimmysnr

Inactive
I have a Ruger All-Weather Synthetic M77 Mark II bolt action in .300wm. I am having a problem with the rings practically stripping the finish off my scope. I figured its probably moving under recoil. Iv considered lapping but I was more considering the Burris ZEE signature rings which has the inserts to prevent wear and tear on the scope finish.

I was browsing the web but cant seem to find the rings for my rifle. I do see the ones with the weaver base but cant seem to figure out what conversion to use. The two weaver bases I have found are:

410990: Burris M77b, Super Redhawk Ruger To Weaver Base Adapter

410991: Burris R1, 77/22b, 77MLb, 77/44b, M-14b, Ruger-To-Weaver Base Adapter

But I have no idea what any of that mess means. Do you guys have any suggestions? I just am at a loss on what would fit.

Forgot to mention they are supposed to be 1" rings and I have a Nikon Buckmaster II 3x9x40 scope which is supposed to be a 1" tube.

Your scope is shifting under recoil. Don't bother replacing the rings, Ruger rings are one of the best mounting systems available. You need to either:
* Tighten the rings well on the scope body. LocTite the screws. Put a drop of LocTite between the scope body and the rings before you tighten the rings.
OR
* If you have a cheap scope, put a dial caliper on it to see if it is actually 1" in diameter. Many are not. If not, you can put a strip of paper between the rings and the scope to allow the rings to grip the scope. If it is a full 1" diameter, remove some metal from the joint between the ring halves to allow the halves to come together and hold the scope.

Lapping the rings might fix the problem by allowing more contact surface area between the scope and the rings, or it could make the problem worse by making the bore of the scope rings even larger.