rossi revolvers

I have a rossi 971 4" .357mag and a smith & wesson 686. Both are good revolvers. The smith is better but for about half the price the rossi is a very good gun. It is accurate, it came with great blueing and a decent trigger. I'm pretty sure that since taurus took them over they have a lifetime warranty. By the way I have so called "better" guns (kimber, cz, hipower ect.) but the rossi is the one kept by my bed. I guess it comes down to how much you want to spend.

The Rossis that I've owned and shot are every bit as good as my S&Ws. I've shot a couple of Mdl. 971s that had smoother DA trigger pulls than S&W. My current Rossi is a Mdl. 720 .44 Spl. I would not hesitate to bet my life on it.

In 1992 or '93 Rossi modernized their plant and manufacturing methods, and improved their quality control. Rossis made from that point until Taurus acquired them are excellent revolvers. I have no experience with the post-merger guns.

Great guns for the money.

I've shotten both the 971 VRC and 877 and was very please with the accuracy. The 877 I especially liked, what with the comfortable grips, good trigger, etc... great little snubbie for the dollars.

[Edited by Ewok_Guy on 05-14-2001 at 12:58 AM]

I had a model 720 .44 special. It was a nice little gun. The only reason I got rid of it was that I couldn't get used to getting slapped in the face with pieces of lead caused by cylinder not lining up with the barrel. But as with most things in life you get what you pay for. Half the price of a Smith&Wesson and half the quality. I haven't shot one since Taurus took them over so hopefully their quality control has improved.