Rifle Recoil

Mike H

Guys,

Let me first state that I'm an avowed pistol shooter, rifles don't conceal well and tend to overpenetrate at 5 yards, scope focussing at this range is also a little difficult particularly at night. But, my uncle has offered to take me up into the high country and has advised me that I will need a little more than a 9mm. So here's the recoil bit, I'd like to go with a heavy caliber that will take care of ANYTHING, we have bears here you see, not great big ones but bears nonetheless. My uncle who is a seasoned veteran of deer hunts uses a 7mm Rem Magnum, when I announced that I had picked out a nice .338 Winchester Magnum at the local gun store and that it seemed to have the power I was looking for, I was roundly told that the recoil would, quote "mess you up real bad son". OK, so I'm a novice with long guns but I'm no spring chicken at 35 and 200lbs, and .223 is a kids caliber, while .270 won't do much to a bear or will it. My uncle says go with the .308 but I want a lot more insurance, so will my heavy .338 Mag "mess me up" or is it manageable , advice very much appreciated.

Regards,

------------------
A Person Is Smart
But People Are Stupid

Mike H

Recoil depends on the weight of a gun, stock design, caliber , cheek weld, and the person. It can affect one person and not another. I had two 12 gauge shotguns, one a mossberg and the other a rem. Using the same loads in both guns, I felt more recoil using the mossberg than the rem. I own a .308 that weighs about twelve pounds loaded and scoped. I'm a small guy, 5'5" and a 150lbs. The recoil does not bother me at all, even from the bench. I'm pretty sure it could kill a bear with in 200 yards with proper placement and a good round. According to the ballistics, hornady's light magnum will give you 30-06 performance out of the .308 with the benefit of having a short action. Good luck in what ever you choose.

------------------

L.D.

Mike,