rifle opinions

Road Dog

Inactive
Got a little question here. Deer season is slowly but surely moving near, and the hunt for a new rifle is on. I need a little advice though, I am looking at two rifles, both in 7mm-08. The first is a Browning, the ones like the old Micro Medallions without the BOSS system. The second is a Weatherby with a SS fluted barrel and synthetic stock. But as you can imagine the price difference is quite staggering between the two and I was just wondering if the Weatherby is that much better than the Browning? I have no experience with Weatherby, and my Browning Stalker is a good quality rifle. Any ideas, opinions, experiences? Thanks RD

Hunting ranges would be from 75-200 yrds max.

Go with the Browning over the Weatherby. In a hunting rifle, you don't need the fancy extra's and I doubt that the Waetherby is really more accurate.
My personal choice would be a Remington Model 7. The 7mm08 is a very short cartridge and the Remington Model 7 is the only rifle designed around these short (.308 length) cartridges - maybe Savage makes a short action also?
At any rate, why buy a standard length action that is adapted to a short, when you can buy a rifle designed around the cartridge?
The price will be competitive with the Browning, perhaps less.

------------------
Keith
The Bears and Bear Maulings Page: members.xoom.com/keithrogan

Thanks Keith. I had a Model Seven last year in 7mm-08, but it wouldn't shoot very well. about the best I ever got was around 2 inches at 100 yrds, with an occasional flyer that jumped way off. That was even with the rifle scoped.
I eventually traded the gun off, to go in search of a more accurate 7mm-08, I just really like the round.

Road Dog: I'll go along with Keith. I'll add that you oughta spend some time in the TFL archives about rebedding the stock, and other tuneups to get better accuracy.

Also remember that 2MOA = 4" at 200 yards, which is the size of a deer's heart, so it ain't that horrible.