Rifle ammunition

Deer hunter88

Does anyone on here have any experience with the Winchester power point ammunition? I’ll be buying a .270 soon and I’m thinking about buying a box of the power points since their reasonably priced.

That ammo should work just fine. Back before I loaded my own, I preferred Remington CoreLocts, but that was a preference with no hard data to base it on.

Power Points

The "Power Point" line in Winchesters ammo line-up is well established and has a good reputation. I have one rifle in .308 that shot the .30/ 150 gr offering very well.

I've been a 270 Winchester guy for a long time. I mostly shoot reloads, but, yes, of course I have shot Winchester Power-Points. For budget-priced ammo, they are some of the best. Save your empty cases to reload.

I've been slaying deer for many decades shooting Power Point ammo in my 30-30 carbine. Accuracy is quite good. Performance on deer sized game is outstanding - ghastly damage to the chest organs every time.

Jack

Do this: Buy two boxes or so of 130 and 150 grain Power-Points and shoot several 5 shot groups at 300 yards from as stable a position as you can provide on paper targets and buy more of the winning formula.

P.S. COSteve is partly correct in that 130 grain bullets usually shoot flatter out to perhaps 300-plus yards. At much longer ranges, 150 grain spitzer bullets retain their velocity better and will have a flatter trajectory over the long-haul, but that's likely to be further than most hunters should attempt any shots on game. The most important difference between bullet weights is to select the one that shoots best in your rifle. My rifle likes 150 grain bullets; your rifle may, or may not.

Last edited:
I have four rifles chambered to the .270 Win. Winchester Power Point 150 gr. ammo has beed sub-MOA in three of the rifle and exactly one inch on average in one, a Ruger #1A.