Revolver mods

Kermit

I am new to revolvers. I have had some form of semi-auto handgun since I turned 21 (legal age in CA.) Anyway, I recently scratched my revolver itch by purchasing an OLD 586. Now, I like the gun. It's accurate, smooth trigger and there is just something about a 6" 357 magnum. Anyway, my only complaint re: this gun is that the trigger pull is a little long (I shoot it double action.) Is it possible to shorten the trigger pull? Is this a worth while modification? What other mods are done to revolvers?:)

PS...can anyone give me a rough idea on how old a 586-1 is. I was recently at the range and asked about their rental 686-6. They said that it was about 10 years old. Geez, that would make mine OLD!:eek:

1986 IS OLD ?

Geez Kermit, not in the revo world !

I've never looked into shortin'nun a DA but I'll give you a tip. Have a TRUE revo 'smith tune your
DA for the lightest and smoothest pull. You'll develope a glideing 'touch' after useing it for a while to the point where you wouldn't even realize
you are pulling the trigger. It's kind of hard to explain but a few of my Smiths have this glass
action when pulled slow and at a constant rate.
The 2 best are a 1956 pre29 and a 1939 .38/44 Outdoorsman. One of the reasons the Outdoorsman is
so smooth is it's proly been shot 50,000 times...
I hope more revos follow you home. Best...dewey

Kermit, I've never heard of that either.

Perhaps you may be able to accomplish much the same thing with a different set of grips.
Do the ones on your gun now have material covering up the backstrap? If so, a simple change to ones with an open back will make a marked difference. Ditto if the gun is equipped with the large set of factory wood stocks. There's a whole lot more palm-swell in those than most hands will ever need. This keeps you from getting more finger on the trigger for better control.