Revolver life expectancy

Kermit

I'm new to revolvers, so I'm trying to learn as much as possible as quickly as possible. Anyway, a buddy was telling me that because the revolver has so few moving parts, as less parts which take the abuse from the shooting, that they will last longer. Now, all things being equal, ie...will a revolver last longer? COuld I count on 2X, 3X or 4X more rounds from a revolver?

NO

And I am a revolver freak. Modern (less than a hundred years old) double action revolvers do not have less moving parts than most autoloaders. The revolver has less moving parts that are directly affected by the fireing but they have more moving parts involved overall. A good example of either should run +- 50 thousand rounds before needing tuning.

I like the ability to shoot any shape bullet at whatever pressure I desire in a revolver without affecting function. Autoloaders are a bit more finicky about what they are fed.

Sam

As CR Sam said a revolver (particularly a DA revolver) has more moving parts and is more complex mechanically than most pistols. What revolvers will do is run a longer with less maintenance than a pistol. To obtain maximum life expectancy (and reliablility) with pistol, you must regularly replace at a minimum the recoil spring and magazines springs and generally keep them better lubricated and cleaner than a revolver (not that you can/should abuse a revolver). For example, I have a a 47 year M28 that has shot nothing but .357 Magnums its entire life, is all original (springs and all) and shoots better than new (literally)--I would hope nobody is running any automatic with the kind of round count that it has with the original recoil spring.

There are some variables involved generally a bigger revolver firing low to medium pressure loads will last longer than a medium or small revolver (particularly with high pressure loads)--it is possible to destroy a K-frame (and J-frames) .357 Magnums, but the same is true of pistols.