Revelation 12 Gauge?

Mosin-Marauder

Getting my Great Grandpa's old Revelation 12 Gauge Pump, from what I've seen it's a Mossberg 500 sold under Western Auto's brand name. It cycles smoothly and loads smoothly, Im new to Pump guns, so any advice about maintenance and cleaning it up will be appreciated, It has a bit of rust on the barrel but I honestly think most of it is just caked on dirt and dust, so cleaning the metal parts off with water and a toothbrush will be the first step, then I will dry the metal metal parts and oil them well so they don't rust, then I will work on removing any rust with 0000 Steel wool and gun oil. The only thing that worries me is there is electrical tape on the middle of the pistol grip, and I am worried a crack is underneath, although I haven't taken the tape off, so it could have just been for extra grip. But if the stock is cracked, what would be the best course of action? As I don't want to leave the tape on there. Assuming it isn't cracked, what would be the best way to clean the wood off without removing finish?

Thanks for any other tips and advice you may have.

Regards,

-Mo.

Stocks for the 500 are easy and not expensive.
If it's cracked, definitely repair or replace it.
It's kind of an important part.
There's a couple of things to look at with the 500.
The safety switch, on top of the tang, can break if it's made of plastic.
Changing it to a metal one is good insurance.
Another is the action lock lever, the part that keeps the action closed until either the trigger is pulled or the lever is pushed upward to release the action.
If it's not right, the action will open of its own accord and come back under recoil.
It protrudes down from the frame, just to the rear of the trigger guard.
Not necessarily dangerous, but something to check and fix if need-be.
Otherwise, just keep it clean and clear of debris down deep and it will run just about forever.