Replacing scope on Savage 110 .30-06. Suggestions?

NXMR

Hi all.

I'm going to replace the 3-9x40 scope on my Savage .30-06.

I'm down to a Nikon, either the ProStaff 4-12x40 or the Buck Master 4.5-14/40.

My eyes aren't great so I'd like the extra magnification of the 4.5-14 vs the 4-12. Then again, my wallet isn't too fat so I like the Pro Staff's price a little better.

One thing that I'm concerned about is the recoil knocking the scope off center. Is the Buck Master better at 'hanging on' through recoil, or is it just a matter of properly securing the scope (Loctite, etc.)?

I'm kinda new to rifles still so any help appreciated! I plan on deer hunting next season with this rifle and its new scope.

Any advice appreciated!

Last edited:
Nikon Prostaff is a good scope. I have 3X9 on my .257 weatherby. For the price and it's clarity you can't go wrong. Good luck!

I have a Pro Staff that I love as well, a 2-7x32mm on a 336C 30-30. That being said, the Buckmaster line is better. It is worth the extra money without a doubt. Every time I look through one, I see where that extra $50 is going. The Buckmaster's glass is as clear & bright as their Monarch line, IMO.

I have the Nikon Buckmaster with 40mm objective lens and BDC recticles on my 7mm Mag, and am looking at the Nikon Monarch with 50mm objective and BDC for my 25-06.