Removing lube from finished cartridges

Real Gun

I am new to reloading lead and wonder about the best way to clean up loaded cartridges. I use the same hand to grab both bullet and case, so my finished ammo has gooey cases.

Well there are several different things you can do. The speed you want, and the volume you do will make a big differance, as well as budget if you are super broke.

1. Wipe with a clean cloth. Takes some time, works well enough with standard case lube, and wax, or allox bullet lubes. Takes a few seconds for each. If you use a Lee trimmer with the lock stud on a drill it goes real quick.

2. Steel wool, and a Lee Trimmer either on the Zip Trim (works like a pull string pecil sharpener.) or chucked in a drill. A few seconds each case.

3. Wipe with mineral spirits on a cloth. Kind of like number one. Just takes a bit for the mineral spirits to dry.

4. A vibratory tumbler. Pick your choice of media of corn cob, or walnut. A half hour or so does the job in most cases.

The only real equipment buy would be the tumbler realy. I have one. I use it to clean range pick up brass, and to remove the case lube from my brass. I clean 3 calibers of it as loaded rounds. It takes about a half hour or so to have it clean enough to not worry about.

Cleaning up completed cartridges. I just put a few drop of CLP on a piece of cotton flannel shirt. Rotate the entire bullet in the rag a couple times. Lubes gone. Brass is shinny. Even my cast bullets take on a nice silvery look. And there is a very light coating of CLP left behind that is absulity nothing to worry about. Sorry gents I never throw completed loaded rounds into my vibratory tumbler for any reason. But those that do. I'm sure you already weighed the benefits verses the negatives of doing so.

S/S

Tumbling loaded rounds