remington model 11 question

dnsharpshooter

just picked up a Remington Model 11 12 gauge from a gun store. serial number shows it is probably a 1908 or 1909, so i guess its not a Model 11 but a Remington Autoloading Shotgun.

it was really dirty, but i got it cleaned up and it looks like it will be a good shooter. only strange thing i noticed was that it will only hold 3 shells (1 in chamber and 2 in the mag tube), but i do not believe its a sportman model because of its age and it doesnt have any kind of engraving on the receiver. someone maybe put a sportsman mag tube or? any ideas?

If it's ever been used for hunting it may have a plug in the mag tube that limits the mag to two with one in the chamber. This is required in many jurisdictions.

How do i check for this plug and if there is one, how do i remove it? Appreciate the help, this is my first "real" shotgun and im still learning alot. I used to have a cheapo 20 gauge single shot but obviously thats alot simpler than this one. Thanks

EDIT: make sure the gun is empty!!!!

Lock the bolt in the open position. Remove the cap just in front of the fore arm grip. The barrel and forearm grip will slide forward and off. Under the removed cap there will be a retainer that can be carefully "pried out". A long spring will fly out, dont worry it goes in easy. There will be a wooden dowel at the end of that spring, remove it and re-install everything

Go to www.remington.com and get an owner's manual. Numrich also has a decent schematic online.
Taking apart a Model 11, or Remington Autoloading Shotgun, is a whole lot more complicated than an 1100. The recoil spring assembly is on the outside of the magazine tube, and it must be installed correctly for the gun to work, and it is all held together by the fore end cap.
Good luck.