Remington 700 VLS vs. 700 XCR Tactical Long Range:

Sturdyman

Inactive
Hello All,

Its me again the new guy. I was dead set on Savage but after a trip to a local gunsmith I am looking at Remington options. Just might purchase the 700 SPS Tactical. This will be an all weather gun for the range and hunting. For my 2nd rifle I am considering the 700 VLS or the XCR Tactical Long Range.

This 2nd rifle would be for target 200 to 600 yards but I do not want to be tied down to a bench. I have always wanted a wood or wood like stock and forearm on a rifle. The VLS is heavy and would not be taken into the field just a range gun. The XCR Tactical Long Range is from what I can see a longer version of the SPS Tactical. Since I am new to the rifle keeping things relatively the same may be a good thing. I do understand both rifles would have to be adjusted by the smithy (bedding, accurizing, etc).

Remember I am new to this sport. Please explain your choices so that I will have the knowledge to make an informed decision. This 2nd purchase will not be until July or August after I get use to the ranges in Maryland.

My brother and I are having a ball with clays and want to expand. :D

Oh, I forgot any choice would be in the .308 caliper. The reason for this is purely economy.

Thank you all in advance.

They are pretty much the same rifle, just different stocks... I have a VLS in .308, my son has an SPS in .308. The only difference I have seen is the stock. They are both quite accurate.

Thank you for your reply FWB.

The VLS is $500 cheaper than the XCR TLR. Both are similar in weight and length. The extra $500 could be put in a very good trigger or a better scope. We are planning on using a Millett TRS1 for the SPS Tactical. I would like to get a Nightforce scope for the next purchase. Again this second rifle would be for long range work.