Remington 700 LTR Safety Issue?

American Dad

Inactive
Does anyone know if all Remington 700's have had the issue with the safety discharging a round? I am considering purchasing a Remington 700 LTR .308 and was good to go until my research led me down the path of the accidental discharge from the safety.

I have been shooting Rem 700's for over 40 years along with all my family members gramps,uncles,and cousins we have never seen a accidental discharge from a rem 700??
Dad bought a Rem 700 7mm rem mag at a auction where someone had adjusted the factory trigger to the point it wouldn't work,he bought it cheap adjusted the factory trigger now it's a shooter with no trigger or safety issues.

Just my experience

Use the Google search term "Remington trigger issues" and you'll get a wealth of information, some of it good, some of it bad. The issue is with a hatchet job CNBC did on the Walker trigger. I've owned several Remington 700s with the Walker trigger and never had a problem. My current Remington 700 has a Walker trigger. The newer model Remington 700's have a newer trigger design.

One fairly decent rebuttal to the CNBC hack job is by Dave Petzal at Field and Stream. LINKY!

Oh, and here's Remington's response to the CNBC hack job. LINKY!

One thing to remember is that anybody can make a rifle unsafe, which is why trigger jobs should be done only by trained professionals. In trigger adjustment, a little information is a bad thing. - - oh, and never point the muzzle at anything you're not willing to destroy.