Remington 597

leedesert

I just purchased this gun for my son. I bought it in the 22LR with synthetic stock. It's a little heavy for my 9yr old bought he will grow into it with time (a week at his rate). Is this a good 22 for the money ($119 after rebate)? I looked at the 10/22 but at $230 for synthetic stock I was under funded.
I also mounted a daisy red dot optical sight to help him hit targets easier in the begining. As he improves I will graduate him to regular sights and then a scope. Is this a good plan or should I reconsider.

------------------
"It is easier to get out of jail then it is a morgue"
Live long and defend yourself!
John 3:16

I am no expert, so this is purely my opinion.
I taught my children to shoot open sights first. I think that this teaches lessons on shooting that may be hard to learn if you use a scope first. (Focusing on the front sight is the most important I can think of right now.) Kind of like learning to drive an automatic and then trying to learn a standard. The only time I let a new shooter use a scope or red dot sight is if their eyes are too poor to focus well enough to use open sights. Again, this is just my opinion and there are others on this board who are much more qualified to answer this question.

Halffast

------------------
"I say that big talk is worth doodly-squat." Granny Hawkins from the Outlaw Josey Wales

I'm with Halffast on this. Teach the basic's first... Open Sights! This for a few reasons.

It will require more work but when achieved the results will be better appreciated. Also, what happens when the scope breaks or the batteries run out.

It is like learning to ride a two wheeler... you don't start out with a small motorbike, you start with a pedalbike. Why... to learn the basics.

I taught my olders to shot using my AR. She is only now starting to work with a scope.

------------------
Schmit
GySgt, USMC(Ret)
NRA Life, Lodge 1201-UOSSS
"Si vis Pacem Para Bellum"