Remington 572 Fieldmaster issue

bikermj

Inactive
I have a 572 Remington Fieldmaster that I bought in the late 1960's. Haven't shot it in many years but pulled it out recently and introduced it to my son and grandson at my range. It shot perfectly. In cleaning it afterwards, I separated the barrel from the receiver (this was probably the first time that it had been done.) I read the manual on doing this and was aware of the need to "not mess with the receiver bushing." Reassembled the rifle and shot it again at the range. Upon cleaning it, I noticed that the barrel lock screw and receiver bushing were missing. I ordered the two parts and when received could not understand how to install the rubber receiver bushing? I don't see how to install it. Has anyone done this before? How do you do it? What is the purpose of the bushing? Thanks.
bikermj

I have a 572 Remington Fieldmaster that I bought in the late 1960's. Haven't shot it in many years but pulled it out recently and introduced it to my son and grandson at my range. It shot perfectly. In cleaning it afterwards, I separated the barrel from the receiver (this was probably the first time that it had been done.) I read the manual on doing this and was aware of the need to "not mess with the receiver bushing." Reassembled the rifle and shot it again at the range. Upon cleaning it, I noticed that the barrel lock screw and receiver bushing were missing. I ordered the two parts and when received could not understand how to install the rubber receiver bushing? I don't see how to install it. Has anyone done this before? How do you do it? What is the purpose of the bushing? Thanks.
bikermj