Remington 30-06 rifles

Beezer

I recently inherited a couple of rifles from my grandfather and I am a gun novice, so I have a few questions.

The rifle's are both Remington 30-06's. One is the model 700. The other is the Woodsmaster 742.

1) Is there a good place to find a PDF version of the 742 manual? I'd rather not pay or download additional software to get the manual.

2) I'm not great with gun terms, so please excuse this next sentence. On the 742, the thing (slide, maybe) that you pull back to eject shells sticks and is difficult to pull back. Is this a common issue? If so, is there an easy fix (like oil it up)?

3) I've read that the 742 came in right and left hand models. How do I tell which one I have?

4) On the 700 model, do I need to oil or grease the bolt when I clean the gun?

Pulling on the slide handle retracts the bolt, and if it's on the right-hand side of the rifle (most common), it's a right-hand model.

Difficulty in retraction: It could be that the chamber is dirty, which is a common problem on these rifles. Access for a copper cleaning brush is not all that easy. I'll let somebody with experience explain the how-to. :)

(It just occurred to me that something like the flexible drive cable for the old Corvette fuel injections would be a basis for a tool: Handle on one end, fitting for a cleaning brush on the other.)

On the 700, like any bolt action, I spray some gun oil on a patch and wipe it down. Normally, the only real cleaning is on the face of the bolt where it gets a bit grungy from shooting--and that's rather occasional. Otherwise, basically, any oiling is for prevention of rust.

Pulling on the slide handle retracts the bolt, and if it's on the right-hand side of the rifle (most common), it's a right-hand model.

Difficulty in retraction: It could be that the chamber is dirty, which is a common problem on these rifles. Access for a copper cleaning brush is not all that easy. I'll let somebody with experience explain the how-to.