reloading

oldbear1950

I am fairly new to this, reloading I mean. It is my understanding that a carbide sizing depriming die can be used in conjunction with steel expanding die and seating die. And since the sizing/depriming is carbide, does not need to be lubed. Is that correct?

I found lube to help regardless.

Yes I mix and my dies as only sizing is where the carbide applies.

Yes, carbide sizing dies should not need lubrication. Neither should the steel mouth flare/expanding die. You can use lubrication if you want too, but it should not be needed.

I am fairly new to this, reloading I mean. It is my understanding that a carbide sizing depriming die can be used in conjunction with steel expanding die and seating die. And since the sizing/depriming is carbide, does not need to be lubed. Is that correct?
There are exceptions. Carbide .30 Carbine cases need routine lubing. Also as previously posted, lubing carbide dies that generally do not "need" lube to work can still provide a smoother operation if lubed.

"Carbide" sizing dies are steel dies, They have a ring of carbide "glued" in, and work well without lubrication for straight cases, and short cases with minimal taper. Longer cases with more taper require lubrication. Rifle cases require lubrication and carbide dies for them are rare and extremely expensive. (don't know today's prices, but decades ago, when a carbide pistol sizer die SET was $30 a single carbide sizer die for .308 Win was $150)

If you lube straight wall pistol cases, a carbide die works even slicker.

also be aware that if the press ram (shellholder) contacts the carbide ring the carbide can crack, requiring replacement of the die.

44 AMP said:
If you lube straight wall pistol cases, a carbide die works even slicker.
Yepp.