Reloading press opinions

Garye5007

Well, I want to reload pretty much .38 special exclusively. I had a Lee 1000 that I foolishly sold a few years back that worked ok. Would love a Dillon Square Deal b but even new they are as easy to find as chicken teeth (and$$$)I know there are many opinions about presses. I’m even considering a Lee turret.
What would you suggest for next step up without breaking the bank that you all have had luck with. Would love any advice! Thanks!

Well, I've never found the allure of a turret press. It's still only one operation completed per stroke. It's just a fast way to change dies, as far as I can tell.

If you're loading for 38 Special - as I have been doing more than any other caliber for 40 years - then I would recommend what I have: A Dillon 550.

I do however, load differently than most. For me, case reconditioning (prepping for reloading) and the actual reloading process are two discreet operations. In the case of 38 Special, I resize/decap, and flair in one operation. I then wet tumble the brass. After it's dry, I then prime and charge off-press; and then, seat and crimp on the press.

Sage advice sir! I like the idea of a progressive! They show up now and then and I’m not in too big a hurry,Call me paranoid but I have trust issues so I must find something I can pick up in person. Thanks again!

Most of my shooting is for test loads and I take my time assembling everything. My bench is really small so a progressive doesn't work for me. At best, I have an Old RCBS Piggyback whenever I'll have the need to assemble a lot of rounds.

If your goal is just .38 SPL in moderate quantity, you'd be hard pressed (pun intended) to do better than a Dillon 550.

I'm at about 1.2M rounds loaded, and I've done that on a lot of presses and a lot of different ways. I've told myself I could be fine with a progressive set up to produce primed sized brass and then just use a simple press to drop powder and seat bullets.