Reloading .308 Question

Jb26wcu

Hello,

I am new to reloading as so many probably are these days with sky rocketing ammunition costs.

I am pressing once fired (by me) .308 win PMC brass. I am using all Hornady equipment and I am having one issue. Most of the ammo is pressing fine but 1 out of 5 the bullet is not sitting in the casing tight. I am able to spin the bullet/projectile as it sits in the casing. Is this normal? Is it safe to fire these rounds? Is there a fix to this?

I have made multiple adjustments on the hornady custom grade does and I still end up with the same result.

Thank you for your help I greatly appreciate it!

It's not safe if the bullet is loose, you could have a bullet setback, with catastrophic results. Recheck your die setting, something is not set up right.

I assume you have calipers.

measure the bullet diameter to make sure it is not under sized.

you can also take your resizing die apart and measure the expander ball

I would also measure the inside of a case neck diameter before and after resizing a casing. a resized neck should be a couple thousands under .308, in the .304-.306 ish range.

PMC is Korean and is usually decent stuff.
"1 out of 5" indicates a case or resizing issue vs either the bullet or expander. Or maybe you're not quite running the ram all the way up. Still wouldn't hurt to check the expander. Just to be sure And make sure you have checked case lengths and trimmed, as required only, and chamfered the inside of the case mouth.
"...multiple adjustments..." That'll make you crazy. Set the dies up, from the beginning again, starting with the sizer die. Resize a case and measure the neck diameter. (One assumes you have vernier calipres.) Inside and out. OD should be 0.343". ID should be .309". There's a drawing here. https://www.6mmbr.com/308win.html
If all that doesn't help, give Hornady a call. https://www.hornady.com/contact/