Recommendations of top-quality AK makers and tips for first-time AK buyers

ezmiraldo

Hi guys! I'm trying to get a new AK47 rifle for less than $1000 that is of good quality. What manufacturers would you recommend that are currently producing high-quality AKs today and which are available for purchase inside the U.S. (given various bans on imports of AKs)?

Here're the manufacturers I've heard good things about:

• Arsenal
  • Krebs
  • PolyTech
  • Norinco
  • romanian-made AKs
  • Bulgarian-made AKs
  • Saiga
  • Chi-Com
  • Valmet
  • vepr
  • Yugo

Any experience with these, or others? I appreciate your help!

P.S. I'm not very knowledgeable about AKs, but I know that I wanna get one.. :) I don't care about looks. All I want is for it to be reliable and have good accuracy (hits on man-size target to 200-300 yards). Any tips for buying an AK or for selecting which one would be good enough for my criteria would be much appreciated.

Last edited:
I'm not an AK expert, but, and many will disagree, why not Century? They don't have the best but if all you want to do is shoot at giant targets then it will do it. With a rifle, you can hit a gallon jug at 100 yards with the regular sights. I have a Draco, had no intentions in buying it, I even waited a week to think about it, but I just had to have it. Plus it was around $50 less than the rifle. I've recently put a $50 red dot on it and I'm hoping to try deer hunting with it next year.

I have all on your list except the krebs. I prefer the vepr with the wood thumbhole stocks hands down when it comes to quality, price and handling. The wood stocks are attractive and have better cheek weld. Veprs have thicker recievers and heavier profile barrels.

Valmet from finland haven't been made for a while and good examples can easily exceed $1000