Recommendations for Best All Around Calibre

Bullwhip

Inactive
I am looking to buy an all around gun that I can go from hunting deer all the way up to elk, and on the outside, moose. Terrain would range in northern brush to mountain. What would you recommend for calibre? This is my first time on the Firing Line and am very glad I found this page.

Bullwhip. It would depend on how much shooting experience you have withbhigh powered rifles. Pete80's advice is good for a seasoned shooter, but if you are just getting into the game, might be just a bit much.
If where you plan to hunt moose or elk also has big bears (Brer Griz) then I would suggest nothing smaller than a 30-06. There are certain advantages to the 06 that you may not find in other calibers. The availability of ammo is one of the most important ones. Various bullet weights for different types of game. (150 gr. bullets for deer, 180's for elk and moose, and even 220 gr. for big bears.) The only drawback to that, it you will probably (most likely) have to resight your rifle when you change bullet weights.
The big problem with any .300 Magnum, is they kick much harder than the 06.
I am basing my opinion on the basis that you are a newbie to the shooting and hunting scene. If you are reasonably well experienced in hunting and shooting, then by all means, use a .300 Magnum.
Paul B.

I'm not a hunter, but based on all the advise I've seen around here a 30-06 is what I would start out with. I've also heard that 30-06 in it's modern loadings is't far behind the .300 win mag.

Safe shooting
Tony

Good old 30-06 will serve you well. If you are an experienced shooter and can handle them, a .300 mag has a bit more going for them. Have you heard this before?

Having said all of that, many, many elk hunters here in Wyoming use the .270, .280 and 7mm magnums with "premium" bullets. I still prefer the 30 calibers though.